Beef Ravioli (using wonton wrap) in Tomato Cream Sauce

This is another one of my impromptu and unconventional recipes gathered from my cravings and things I had in my kitchen. So the story goes: there’s ground beef defrosted for several days and due to be cooked; my sister had opened a pack of wonton wraps; I wanted something creamy for dinner.

Beef Ravioli (using wonton wrap) in Tomato Cream Sauce

Ingredients:

  • ground beef
  • wonton wrap (from larger supermarkets or specialty Asian groceries)
  • 1 can of Primo diced tomatoes
  • 250mL carton of whipping cream
  • seasoning (salt and pepper)
  • shredded cheese (optional)

  1. Mix ground beef with seasoning and shredded cheese. I used shredded cheddar (there was a Tupperware of it).
  2. Place a piece of wonton wrap in dry palm, place a table spoon of ground beef mixture into center of wonton wrap. Don’t be too greedy or the ravioli will burst open.
  3. Dip a finger from unoccupied hand into water and wet the edges of wonton wrap.
  4. Place second piece of wonton wrap on top and seal the edges. (Alternately, you can make smaller ravioli using only one piece of wonton warp and folding it into a triangle, as in Chinese dumplings.)
  5. Repeat until you feel you have enough or run out of ingredients.
  6. In a pot or deep pan, turn on to medium low heat. Add in Primo diced tomatoes (you want both the chunks and tomato juice) and let it simmer until it bubbles.
  7. Stir in whipping cream (which should be approximately 1/3 the amount of tomatoes + juice). Remember to keep the heat low when you cook dairy. Simmer until sauce is warm.
  8. Add ravioli into the simmering sauce. Cook for 10 minutes to make sure the meat is cooked and the carbs have absorbed the sauce. Make sure the edges of the ravioli are immersed in the sauce or they’ll become really dry.
  9. Season to your preference and serve warm.

I love this sauce so terribly much and it is so frickin’ easy that I have stocked up on Primo’s diced tomatoes in my pantry (aka cabinet above the fridge). I love Primo’s diced tomatoes in a can because it is very flavourful and super convenient. I use it for sauces, salads, and stir fries.

Primo's diced tomatoesFor the ravioli, you can easily substitute fillings with most things you find in your fridge. :) If you choose to use lean ground meat, avoid cooking for too long as the meat can get tough.

I hope I didn’t offend Italian chefs or foodies by using wonton wraps! I would call it fusion, east meets west, etc. I am just using “creative problem solving” aka “being resourceful”… or just plain lazy. IT’S A FINE LINE, OKAY???!! Hope you enjoyed my simple but hands on and quirky recipe! Bon appetit!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Beef Ravioli (using wonton wrap) in Tomato Cream Sauce

  1. mnc2fan

    Was looking around and stumbled on this. I had the same ingredients around wondering what I could do. I added shitake mushrooms, garlic, and red unions. It turned out great.. though I was a little worried looking at the mix in the pan before I put the raviolis.

    Thanks for the idea!

  2. Sindy

    Your combination sounds like a much more balanced diet. Glad to be at your service ;)

Leave a Reply

